Depending on who you ask, they might be the same of they might be two completely different things. 

I know, from my psych classes, that our brains are wired to look for patterns. In the case of communications, looking for patterns often mean listening to the whole of the conversation to get a general understanding. 

Listening to friends having a Spanish conversation, I found myself trying to figure out what they were talking about. I recognized a few words, but not enough to fully understand. As a result, ten minutes into their discussion, I started to treat them like noise as I continued to study/review for my finals. 

Times like this remind me how people think differently depending on how many languages they know. To people who know Spanish, they would occasionally, subconsciously listen into the conversation. For those who aren’t familiar with the language, it doesn’t sound like anything and is treated as static. 

But, be careful. In static can be hidden messages, or simply randomly generated pixels. 

