I might only have one match
but I can make an explosion

And all those things I didn’t say
Wrecking balls inside my brain
I will scream them loud tonight
Can you hear my voice this time

This is my fight song
Take back my life song
Prove I’m alright song
My power’s turned on
Starting right now I’ll be strong
I’ll play my fight song
And I don’t really care if nobody else believes
Cause I’ve still got a lot of fight left in me

~ Rachel Platten “Fight Song”

Ever have an ordinary day turn into hell within a second? Ever find numb with shock, with immense amounts of sadness, fear and anger? Ever wonder what went wrong as the memories flood back, as if trying to pinpoint the exact moment in which everything went into chaos?

From Psychology, I know that motions are designed to be short lasting, but somehow, it didn’t seem to be short enough. The superego was frantic, trying to correct something that couldn’t be corrected without created a paradox. The endocrine system was in fight-or-flight mode, determined that there was a deadly predatory somewhere nearby. The id wanted to jump into a hole where no light could reach it…

But the ego indicated that there were and are worse possibilities, that the outcome today was minor in comparison to the hundreds of other possibilities. The ego looked to the positive angles of which indicated that there were no injuries and that it was something of which could be fixed.

So, for the moment, it might look bad, but it’s not the end. It will pass, time moves on, and lives will continue. Emotions last only in the short term, unless that moment is relived over and over again. Even if the climax were to be pinpointed, it cannot be corrected. For now, it’s better to reflect on the incident and to learn from it, hoping that it won’t happen again in the near future

